Historic Oak Cottage
& The Mill/Carriage House
National Historic Register
New Jersey Register of Historic Places
The FULLY RESTORED
Piece of History know as Oak Cottage
NOW FOR SALE
Buy Direct From Owner
Contact Us Today for More Info!!
Oak Cottage is a Second Empire 'General Grant' style Victorian - which
underwent a 4 year restoration process . This structure has been lovingly
restored from the top of the Mansard roof to the floor of the walk-out
basement. Oak Cottage now includes all new modern gas heating (2 separate
furnaces), all new plumbing, 6 bedroom septic system, new well, new gas
supply from the road, new electric, new fixtures, appliances, new carpeting,
new slate, new kitchen with granite, plus 4 brand new baths
And the only thing better than what is *new* at Oak Cottage - is what is OLD! ~ Absolutely NO
preservation effort has been spared. Every element possible has been authentically restored.
The cedar siding and stone foundation survived time in overall excellent condition. The plaster
walls, woodwork, and trim (including the extensive first floor picture framing details) have been
preserved and restored wherever possible. The original windows were rebuilt by hand -and the
broken glass replaced with antique glass rather than replica. The process was extremely
labor intense - but the result is priceless.
The combined house and mill includes: 13 rooms (6 bedrooms) PLUS 4 baths (2 full and 2 half),
an unfinished basement, 2 covered porches, and the mill/carriage house.
The first floor consists of a formal parlor, a formal dining room, a large kitchen, a great room, a
"gentleman's parlor", a powder room, and a large private entry room / laundry room (a slate floor
"mud room" entrance with laundry facilities AND a breath taking view of the mill and the pond),
PLUS 2 covered porches.
On the second floor you'll find all 6 bedrooms and 2 full baths (one bath is accessed from a
common hallway and one is located off the master bedroom.)
The 3rd floor had once been divided into 2 children's "dormitories". This space has been opened
into one large room and a half bath.
Oak Cottage also has a walk-out unfinished basement.
In addition to the house, the property offers a 2 story 'Apple Cider Distillery' / Carriage House
(built in 1828 - while owned by Ephriam Marsh.) This 'mill' was once powered by a water turbine
in the basement of the mill! - It was the "distillery" producing the beverages for all the hotels as
well as the local community.
The 1+ acre property also has a private pond (with fish!) Oak Cottage is within a NYC
commuting distance (by car, bus, or train.)
GORGEOUS & RELAXING COMMUTER LOCATION!!
Oak Cottage and the Mill are located at the peak of Historic Schooley's Mountain near the
center of Schooley's Mountain Historic district - in scenic Long Valley-Washington Township -
bordering Chester Township (Morris County) New Jersey. This property was a contributing factor
to the designation of this area as a National Historic District. Because of this contribution, Oak
Cottage has every protection and benefit afforded properties on the National Historic Register.
Oak Cottage is also on the New Jersey register of historic places. And, in 2007, it received the
"Best Historic Preservation Work in Progress" Award.
Oak Cottage (also known as 'The General Grant' and 'The Gem of the Mountain') is very rich in
history. It is likely one of the first homes in the region to display the Second Empire (General
Grant) style. Many well known historic figures are said to have visited 'The Gem of the
Mountain'. Schooley’s Mountain was the location of one of this country's very first “health
resorts” - due in part to the local "Mineral Springs". It boasted several grand resort hotels - with
300 to 425 rooms each.
(1)As the Schooley's Mountain resort grew in popularity, wealthier summer residents began
building cottages for themselves which were considered romantic, suitable for rural homes, and
compatible with the natural landscape. These cottages were built as close to the grand hotels
as possible. Note that Oak Cottage was built directly across the street from the main entrance
to the very elite Heath House grand resort hotel. This desirable location may be explained by
the fact that the Marsh family owned both the Heath House and Oak Cottage.
Oak Cottage (The Gem of the Mountain) itself is featured on at least two postcards. Schooley’s
Mountain was *the* summer community - populated by America’s elite. (2)Some noted visitors
to Schooley's Mountain include: Thomas Edison, Vice President George Dallas, Governor
Edward Coles, General J. Chadwalader, Governor William Pennington, E.D. Morgan, the
Vanderbilts, C.V.S. Roosevelt, and Ulysses S. Grant (along with his family members.) ~~ Oak
Cottage's Second Empire style became Grant's chosen and utilized style of architecture during
his presidency. ~ [Due to his fond memories of Oak Cottage? ... We like to think so. ;)]
(1) Source: Document prepared and provided by: Washington Township Historic Society, Washington
(2) Beck, Henry Charlton. (1956) The Roads of Home. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press
For more information please call: (Nine Seven Three) 945-6311
Or email us directly at: Mail(underscore)Michele(at)yahoo(dot)com
Please note "Oak Cottage" in the subject line!
WE WELCOME YOUR QUESTIONS, COMMENTS, & FEEDBACK!
Reigning Once Again
As the 'Gem of the Mountain'
1908 Postcard Above Left
~100 years Later~
2008 View Above
Morris County, NJ
|HISTORIC OAK COTTAGE is a *notably* special house! Oak Cottage was featured in the Jan/Feb 2010 issue of
"PRESERVATION" magazine! It has also been featured on radio talk shows in several states and The NY Times!
|Historic Oak Cottage NOW For Sale!!
|Oak Cottage Pond
IN ALL SEASONS!